Red Wine Cake with Leftover Nutpulp

Hey there :)

Do you like red wine? I do, but for me it has to be on the sweet side. Not a fan of all that dry barrique stuff. Guess that makes me one of those “no idea of wine types”. Anyway, sometimes when we open a bottle and it turns out to be too dry for me to drink I either add some sugar to it (yep, I do that, sorry) or I bake with it. This time it was baking ;)

I also had some nut pulp around and I remembered to make measurements, so here you go with an option to use leftover nut pulp. You can sub it with ground nuts like almond meal or hazelnut meal, but in this case I simply would add one more Tbsp. of liquid. Either some more wine or milk or just water. You can sub the butter with coconut oil if you want this to be dairy free, I don’t know if you van sub the eggs though to make it vegan. Never tried that before but if I was to try, I would use 1/3 Cup of apple sauce and maybe one chia egg (1 Tbsp. chia + 3 Tbsp. water)

I you make the recipe as is you’ll get a very soft cake, that tastes a bit like christmas. It’s a very moist cake and just a tiny bit fragile. No problem to eat it by hand but I wouldn’t try and make a torte with it :)

 

Recipe

prep time: 15 minutes +++ baking time: 45 minutes +++ yields: one small cake

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • ½ Cup / 85g sugar
  • 110g / 1 stick butter, soft
  • ¼ Cup / 60ml red wine
  • ½ Cup / 70g leftover nut pulp from making nut milk
  • 1/3 Cup + 1 Tbsp. / 75g flour
  • 1 Tbsp. (raw) cacao powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • some chocolate chips (optional)

 

Instructions

In a bowl mix together flour, nutpulp, salt, cinnamon, vanilla powder, cacao powder and baking powder. Set aside.

In another bowl cream together butter and sugar until fluffy. Then add the eggs, one at a time and beat with a mixer until combined.

Add the flour mixture and the red wine to the butter mixture and mix until well combined. If desired, stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour the dough into a greased small loaf pan (mine is 20cm)

Bake at 180°C for about 45 minutes. Check with a toothpick if it’s done.

rotweinkuchen3

2 thoughts on “Red Wine Cake with Leftover Nutpulp

Leave a Reply

