Pumpkin Mousse

We are already in the latter half of October, and I am till not ready to get out all my thick socks ;) I kinda like autumn, but it has gotten cold here so fast that I couldn’t adjust. meh.

But anyway, at least at the moment all the trees look like they are on fire, that is a nice sight. And all the pumpkins are back everywhere. My sister’s friend or my sister’s friend friend actually has some sort of pumpkin plantage / pumpkin farm (I have no clue how you call this) and the good thing is, I am also getting some pumpkins from there. Some I even haven’t seen before. I recently got a tiny white one. Never seen that before but I by now know that it is called Baby Boo. Funny name. Have to think about what I will do with it.

For this recipe however I was using some more classic squashes: butternut and hokkaido. Or their puree. We don’t have canned pumpkin puree here, or at least I never saw it, so I have to make it myself. Good thing is, I can choose the pumpkins myself then. Anyway, I am pretty sure, any sort of puree would work here. And while I am still wanting to make some pumpkin bread, the first recipe this year with pumpkin was this pudding. Or mousse. Not quite sure how to call it ^^°

kürbismousse2kürbismousse5

It’s pretty creamy, thanks to the avocado and cashews, but the pumpkin doesn’t get lost there :). If you are not into that sweet pumpkin thing, don’t do the recipe. But if you like it, go for it :) It takes little time to make and actually your food processor will do all the work for you ;) And it is really nice topped with some coconut cream mixed with cinnamon and vanilla. And them some crunchiness on top. Like mousse-y pumpkin pie.

kürbismousse4

Recipe

prep time: 10 minutes +++ serves: 4-6

Ingredients

  • scant 1 Cup / 220g pumpkin puree (mine was a hokkaido-butternut mix)
  • generous ¼ Cup / 40g cashews (preferably soaked overnight)
  • ½ – 1 avocado *
  • ¼ Cup / 60ml maple syrup
  • ¼ Cup / 60ml almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla paste
  • ½ tsp. nutmeg, ground
  • ¼ tsp. tonka bean, ground
  • ¼ tsp. cardamom

topping suggestions: shaved chocolate, chopped walnuts and peanuts, granola, coconut cream

Instructions

Wanna make a guess?

Simply place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend. If you like it super smooth, blend a little longer, if you want it with some chunks, don’t go all the way. Add some more almond milk if you feel the need to smoothen it out.

*And a word on the avocado. If you use a whole one, you will taste it a bit. I don’t mind that, since I like avocado, but if you are not that much into it, you can use just a half one or replace it with a banana. You might want to cut down on the maple syrup in that case.

kürbismousse3

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Mousse

Leave a Reply

