Grainy Spelt Sourdough Bread

I’m a bread-lover. And I don’t know why, but I sometimes feel like bread has lost a bit of its popularity the last few years. With all that celiac disease stuff and so on. But even some people that are normally fine with gluten seem to avoid it nowadays. And sometimes I feel so sorry for the bread. L I mean there is nothing better than freshly baked bread, still warm on your hands and the butter starts melting on it when you start smearing. Poor bread, give its awesomeness some credit. Why would anyone who doesn’t have celiac disease miss this? I don’t get it… Of course there are still a lot of bread lovers out there – Wehoo to y’all! – but still sometimes I want to hit those (in my ignorant eyes) ignorant bread-loathers with some nice fresh baked bread in the face. And then again :) Just some off topic stuff… Love the bread again people :P

koernerbrot8

Anyway, to celebrate my own love for bread I usually make one loaf every week. Working with the flour might be some kind of calming meditation for me. I am not sure. And to be honest I do have a standard recipe that I turn when I don’t feel like testing around too much (nothing sadder than some brick coming out of the oven…), but sometimes I try using new ingredients. And I am being a little late on this one, but I was introduced to Kefir just recently. Not that I wouldn’t know of its existence. I just didn’t use it. Maybe I am more the buttermilk-type? Well, I have baked a bread with Kefir and it actually turned out quite good (this one, for those interested), so I wanted to try another bread with it. Without a given recipe, just fooling around a bit :) And I have to say, I like the result. I have to admit as the dough is super sticky and wet, you cannot work it with your hands (at least I couldn’t, but maybe you are more skillful than I am). Which is always a little less cooler than diving your hands all the way into the dough, I might just make this one more often. A big plus of it is, that it really stays good and moist for long. Even a week without getting too dry :)

koernerbrot7koernerbrot10

So, I just hope that everyone everywhere will find their love for bread again and shall be healed form celiac disease. Seriously. What is that shit. No one needs it!

Recipe

prep time: about 20 minutes + proofing time + baking time +++ yields: one loaf

Ingredients

  • 200g whole grain rye sourdough
  • 315g kefir
  • 30g pumpkin seeds, shelled
  • 60g sunflower seeds
  • 30g flax seeds
  • 30g rolled oats
  • 250g dark spelt flour (I used type 1030)
  • 115g whole grain wheat flour
  • 12g salt
  • more seeds to sprinkle

Instructions

The night before prepare your sourdough: In a bowl mix together 50g of sourdough starter, 75g of water and 75g of whole grain rye flour. Cover with a towel and set aside (for about 10-18 hours). You can also use sourdough starter from the fridge if you have enough.

The next day add the kefir to the sourdough (It should be now all bubbly and expanded in the bowl significantly) Stir until combined. Then add all the seeds and the salt and stir again.

Now gradually add the flours. Work with a kneading machine on low-medium to distribute everything evenly. This is a very wet and sticky dough, so it is hard to work it by hand. If you have the patience you can still do it. Water your hands frequently for it. But to be honest it is way easier using a kneading machine. Once everything is well combined continue to knead the flour with the kneading machine for another 5 minutes. Then set aside for about 30 minutes. The dough will only rise a tiny bit at this point.

After 30 minutes transfer the dough to a baking pan. Mine was about 30cmx8cm / 11”x3”.

Again set the dough aside to rise for about 90-120 minutes. In this time the dough should expand a bit.

koernerbrot1koernerbrot2

koernerbrot4

Preheat the oven to 250°C. Place one baking tray on the lower rack of the oven and one in the lower-middle rack. Just before putting the bread in the oven sprinkle some seeds on top. Cover the top with aluminum foil. Place the bread on the upper rack and spill a cup of water on the lower baking tray. Be careful there will be hot steam!!

Bake the bread for 15 minutes, then reduce the heat to 190°C and bake for another 40 minutes. After about 20 minutes of baking take away the aluminum foil. If you feel the top gets too dark during the baking process you can cover the bread again.

koernerbrot5korrnerbrot6

Take the bread out of the oven. Let cool for about 5-10 minutes, then carefully remove the bread from the baking pan and bake the bread 150°C without the pan for another 5 minutes.

Take out and let cool.

koernerbrot7

2 thoughts on “Grainy Spelt Sourdough Bread

Leave a Reply

