Eggplant-Falafel with Tahini-Lime Sauce

Hey there :)

A while back I was at my parents’ house. They have a real awesome big one and even better they have a nice large garden. And my dad also plants some veggies and herbs himself so I always get something out of it when I am coming home :) This time it was some eggplant. I actually “harvested” it myself. Did you know they have thornes? I was totally unaware of that. I mean, not like really big ones, but they do – naturally – hurt a bit if you unintentionally touch them. Just where the joint between the plant and the vegetable is. Well anyway, I still got the eggplant , no thorns may stop me ;)

I also got some parsley from the garden and have been wanting to make something with beans so I decided to make so falafels. With eggplant. Yummi :) Eggplant are always a nice veggie to add to dishes because they adapt to any flavor I think. And the texture fits falafel perfectly. Also because I knew my sister was coming over and she somewhat likes those I think. Oooh, I am such a lovely sister :P

eggplantfalafel1

Anyway I didn’t want to fry them. Not that I have a problem with frying things in general I like to keep it to a minimum. And falafel taste really great baked. Plus they won’t make you feel that heavy afterwards, which sometimes fried falafel make me feel. So here they are with some easy-peasy tahini-lime sauce.

eggplantfalafel4

Recipe

prep time: about 40 minutes + baking time +++ yields about 15 falafel

Ingredients

for the falafel:

  • 2/3 Cups / about 180g cooked chickpeas
  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 big clove garlic
  • ¼ Cup / 25g ragi flour (flour made from millet, but normal flour would work, too)
  • ½ lime, juice
  • ¼ Cup / 60ml water + more as needed
  • about 4 Tbsp. chopped parsley
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • ½ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • about a tablespoon olive oil

for the sauce

  • 3 Tbsp. tahini
  • 4 Tbsp. water
  • ½ lime, juice
  • 1 Tbsp. honey or maple syrup for a vegan version
  • salt and pepper
  • some chopped parsley

Instructions

For the falafel:

Wash the eggplant. Dice the eggplant and the onions into about 1cm thick cubes. In a pan over medium heat sauté the onions and the eggplant with some coconut oil or oil of choice for about 10 minutes until softened. Season with salt and pepper and stir occasionally. Let cool slightly

In a food processor put all the ingredients except for the olive oil. Pulse until all ingredients are well combined and you have a sticky paste. I like to still have some chunks in my paste, but it’s your choice how smooth you like it.

Adjust the spices and if needed add some more liquid if the paste seems to dry. Mine was good with just ¼ a Cup of water.

Line a baking try with a baking sheet and drizzle some olive oil over it.

With your hands shape small balls (about 1-2 tablespoons worth of paste) and place on the baking sheet.

Put in the oven at 175°C for about 25 minutes. Flip the falafel halfway through.

eggplantfalafel3

For the sauce

Simply mix all the ingredients together with a spoon and adjust spices to taste.

8 thoughts on “Eggplant-Falafel with Tahini-Lime Sauce

Leave a Reply

