Plum-Chutney

Hey there :)

A few weeks back I bought about 2kg of plums. They were on a special sale and I just couldn’t resist. Problem is, what to do with all those plums? Eating them as they are would either make me really congested after a while or at the very least fed up with them. So of course I turned some into a cake. But there were more. Like a little army of small purple soldiers they were mocking me and telling me that I once again bought more than I needed. I never learn…

So I kept thinking and thinking of what to with them before they would turn bad. My first idea was some jam. But to be honest I do get a lot of jam from my grandma already, meaning my pantry wouldn’t exactly need more. But sometimes something good comes out of misery and by turning the jam into chutney the problem was solved. Wow. Aren’t you just stunned by my creativity? I mean, chutney, who would ever think of that? ;)

chchchutney5

Well, okay, not that much of a mind-blowing idea. But the chutney still turned out to be good! Meaning, whenever I will have some plums left to be used I might just turn back to it.

For this recipe I also used up the ginger. I didn’t had much left otherwise I would have used some more in this recipe. So feel free to add more ginger, if you like the tangy taste. You also have to adjust the cayenne pepper depending on how hot you like your chutney. I don’t like it too hot (My head always turns super red and I am at the verge of crying) so I just used 2 tablespoons. This much will just give you the idea of a slight hotness. But most people like it a lot hotter than I do, so add more! This really I a vague recipe and you can totally adjust it to your likings, by adding more spices or omitting the cinnamon etc. pp. Have your taste buds come out and party a bit with you! :)

If you choose to make the recipe as is, you will get a sweet chutney. It is really nice with some good cheese (especially goat) or mixed into some tomato sauces or maybe stew. I could even imagine this as part of a Burger. Gives you a wide range of options really :)

chchchutney2

Recipe

prep time: about 1hour 10 minutes +++ yields: about 3 Cups or more

Ingredients

chchchutney3

  • 2-3 Cups / 500g plums or prunes, quartered
  • 2 ½ Cups / 320g onions, finely chopped
  • 3 inch piece / 25g ginger, finely chopped; or more if you like ginger – you could even double it
  • scant 1 Cup / 200g brown sugar
  • ½ Cup / 125ml dark balsamic vinegar
  • 2-4 Tbsp. cayenne
  • 1-3 tsp. salt, or to taste
  • pinch of cinnamon

Instructions

Start by washing and chopping and the prunes or plums (quarter them or cut in eigths), onions and ginger.

In a medium pot start sautéing the onions with a tablespoon of oil for about 4 minutes. Then add the and the ginger and sauté together for another 3 minutes.

Add the sugar and stir until the sugar has melted and is combined with the rest of the ingredients. Add a bit of salt (start with about 1 teaspoon) and 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper and a dash of cinnamon. Stir into the rest of the ingredients.

Then add the balsamic vinegar and leave everything to simmer over low-medium heat for about 45-50 minutes, stirring occasionally. Try the taste halfway and adjust spices to your liking. You could even adjust the spices at the very end of the cooking process if you want to.

When done fill into clean jars with an airtight lit. If not opened it will last several months.

chchchutney4

2 thoughts on “Plum-Chutney

Leave a Reply

