Spelt Sourdoughbread with a Touch of Lemon

Hey there :) As it is summer I put lemon in a lot of things lately. This time I also put it into my loaf of bread. I always have to be careful with lemon though, as my boyfriend is a bit sensitive to it. So I kept the amount of used lemon zest down a bit. Nonetheless this bread was a nice bread with just a slightly tangy taste. And it made me happy whenever I bit on a “lemon-mine” ;) I wasn’t too sure about this lemon-in-a-bread thing, but it was actually really nice and if it wasn’t for my boyfriend I think I would even up the amount of used lemon. Too bad I can’t, but if you want to, feel free to add some more lemon :) zitronenbrot2 Freshly out of the oven this bread was soooo good. And it even had hat rustic look that I adore in breads, so lucky its crust cracked so nicely. It is nice a daily bread if you don’t want to prepare dinner every night with the heat at the moment. Or it is a nice base for some light bruschetta. Yummi :)

Recipe

prep time: 50 minutes + waiting time +++ yields:one big loaf

Ingredients

  • 550g active rye sourdough starter (235g whole grain rye flour+ 265g water + 50g sourdough starter)
  • 160g water
  • 400g spelt flour (I used type 1050)
  • 3 Tbsp. sunflower seeds
  • 20g rolled Oats
  • ½ lemon, zest
  • 13g salt
  • a bit of yeast if your sourdough isn’t strong

Instructions The afternoon or evening before making the bread mix together 50g of sourdough starter with 235g of whole grain rye flour and 265 g of water in a big bowl. Set aside and let sit for at least 12 hours, 16-18 hours is even better. The next day add to the now active and bubbly sourdough 160g of water, 400g of spelt flour, the oats, sunflower seeds and ½ of a lemon zest. If you like lemon a lot, you can add more. Knead everything until evenly distributed and the dough is wet and a bit sticky. Set aside for about 30 minutes. I always use my hands, but you can use a kneading machine if you prefer. In those thirty minutes you can have a coffee and prepare your rising basket by dusting it properly with flour (I also like lining it with a towel, but this is optional). If you do not have rising basket don’t worry. You do not one necessarily, it just helps with forming the bread. Also put some flour on your working space. After 30 minutes place your dough on a slightly floured working space. Also put some flour on top of the dough. Knead with your hands for 8-10 minutes, gradually adding 13g of salt. You might need to add a bit more flour sometimes. Whenever your dough sticks to your table to much, add just a bit more flour (any flour would work here). I also use wet hands kneading the dough as is doesn’t stick too much to my fingers then. zitronenbrot3 I usually knead dough by folding the edge of the dough not facing me over the end of the dough facing me and then press it down with my handballs. Then I turn the dough by 90° and repeat. And repeat again. And again. After a while the dough will feel more elastic and not as sticky as it has in the beginning. When you are done kneading, form the dough into a loaf: Stretch the loaf and beginning at the near end, roll up the dough into a log-shape. Press down the seals a bit and straighten out the ends just a bit. Place into your rising basket, the side with the seals on the bottom (or just on baking sheet if you don’t have a rising basket). Sprinkle some flour on top. zitronenbrot4 Let the dough rise. I put mine in the fridge went to university. After I came home (after about 4 ½ hours), I took it out of the fridge and let it sit for another hour. But you can also just let it rise at room temperature, for about 3 hours. You can see if your dough is ready by poking it. If the indent made does not spring back quickly it is ready to be baked. zitronenbrot5 When ready to be baked preheat your oven to the maximum temperature and have the baking tray (or baking stone if you have) you are going to use in the oven so it can heat up (not with your bread on it ;)) When the oven is hot, take out the baking tray. Take out the loaf of the rising basket and transfer to the tray (The open end from the basket is now at the bottom). Using a sharp knife, slice the bread about three times. zitronenbrot6 Then put in the oven and pour about 1 Cup of water at the bottom of the oven as well (Be careful here, there will be hot steam!!) Reduce the oven temperature to 235°C and bake for about 35-40 minutes. Take out of the oven and let cool a bit, but have the first slice when the bread is still warm :) zitronenbrot1

5 thoughts on “Spelt Sourdoughbread with a Touch of Lemon

    1. Hey :)
      Thank you. I will definitely check out your blog! To be honest I am not on a vegan diet though, just love trying out all the possibilities there are for me :) Hope you don’t mind and still enjoy the recipes :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

