Warm Zucchini Salad with tomato pesto

Hey there :)

Sometimes I just need something light and quick. Something that doesn’t require a lot of preparation work. I tend to have my bigger meals in the morning and the evening and I do snack quite a bit so I barely eat anything big for lunch. It also makes me too tired afterwards, so I prefer something easy and not overly filling. I’d rather be hungry at noon so I have my justification for something sweet ;)

So this meal is one of those lighter meals I tend to eat for lunch. It is low on carbs, but still has some fiber to it and some vitamins and minerals. It’s really nothing big or spectacular, but like I said, I keep this for the evenings :)

The pesto I used here I made myself and I will include the recipe for it. It will leave you with much more than you need though. But pesto is great for everything so I’m guessing you don’t mind ;) However you can of course use any pesto you prefer.

zuchinisachen2

I also like to add some goat’s cheese to it, but if you want the meal so stay vegan you can just omit it obviously.

Recipe

prep time: 15-20 minutes +++ yields: one serving

Ingredients

  • 2 medium zucchini
  • ½ onion
  • 2 Tbsp. sunflower seeds
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • ½ glove garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. pesto
  • 1 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional topping: goats cheese, lemon zest

Instructions

Wash the zucchini. Then use a potato peeler to cut the zucchini into long small pieces.

zuchinisachen1

Put them in a sieve and sprinkle some salt over them. Set aside, so they can lose some water during that time.

Meanwhile in a pan on medium heat roast the sunflower seeds for about 3 minutes. Set aside.

Cut the onions into fine rings. In the same pan where you roasted the sunflower seeds, heat about 1 tbsp. of coconut oil and sauté the onions in it for about 3 minutes. If you like your onions sweet, add a teaspoon of sugar.

Now back to the zucchini. Wash the salt of them and squeeze as much liquid as you can out of them. Then add the zucchini and the crushed garlic to the onions and stir fry everything for about 2 minutes.

Add 2 tbsp. of lemon juice and toss everything around. Add salt and pepper to taste. Then add the roasted sunflower seeds and the pesto and toss everything around a bit more so it gets more or less distributed.

Put on a plate and add some more pesto and sunflower seeds if desired.

If you want to, you can crumble some goat’s cheese and some lemon zest on top, but it’s totally optional.

zuchinisachen3

Dried tomato pesto

Recipe

Ingredients

  • ¼ Cup / 20g walnuts
  • ¼ Cup / 20g cashews
  • ¼ Cup / 30g pistachios
  • 3 Tbsp. shelled hempseeds
  • 1 Cup tightly packed / 45g basil leaves
  • 1/3 Cup tightly packed / 90g dried tomatoes
  • 1 glove garlic
  • ¼ Cup / 60 ml olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp. oil from the dried tomatoes if you have used them from a glass. if not, use more olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp. coconut sugar (optional)

Instructions

Heat a pan without oil over medium heat and roast the walnuts, cashews and pistachios for about 4 minutes. Toss around a bit so they won’t burn.

Place all the ingredients in a high vessel and blend with an immersion blender. Add more oil if needed.

Leave a Reply

