Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Hey there :)

There are those days when you have nothing but time on your hands. Those are the perfect days to try and attempt this recipe. Don’t do it if you don’t have time. Because I did and I burnt my hands and still didn’t make it in time to go to the cinema. No, really, this takes quite a while. Mostly because you will get quite a mass and you have to cook those little bastards sort of twice, once as the whole potatoes and then when they have their endform you have to heat them in the pan again. And let’s not forget about all the rolling and forming… I really can’t remember anymore how the hell I thought I could make them within one hour. I’m dumb I guess. But that’s okay. Dumb is good in this case because they are totally worth it! It’s so strange since there really isn’t that much to them, only four ingredients and all of them are not known for their highly intense flavor or anything. But nonetheless those gnocchi were good. Way better than I thought they would be. So although my hands still hurt a bit and instead of going to the cinema I just had to watch TV on my sofa, happy I could ate sweet potato gnocchi. Nomnomnom.

orangegnocci6

Yaah.. I wanted to make some gnocchi for a while now. But we don’t have a potato ricer or anything. So instead of smashing them into puree or so I just grated the sweet potatoes. That worked perfectly fine.

orangegnocci1

This was my first attempt of making gnocchi on my own so I don’t know if it makes much of a difference, but I don’t think I will change this technique. It worked and the result was some nice texture, most likely more so than when working with puree. Also our kitchen can’t hold any more utensils I’m afraid. If you face about the same problems, this might be the answer. I like grating stuff anyway, feels like working out (I always hope It will increase my muscle mass – never has though I fear ;) ). Anyway, those were really good, some of the best gnocchis I have ever eaten so far, allthough I also have to admit these were the first that were not store-bought. Makes quite a difference. Yumm :)

orangegnocci2

orangegnocci3 orangegnocci4

Recipe

yields: 3-5 servings +++ prep time: about 2 hours

Ingredients

  • 2 big sweet potatoes (mine were about 700g before grating, after that they were reduced to 660g / 2 ¾ Cup… I don’t know where the rest went ^^°)
  • 2 ½ Cups / 325g flour
  • 1 Cup / 180g durum wheat semolina
  • 1 -2 tsp. salt, or to taste

Instructions

Wash, peel and cook the sweet potatoes until they are soft (mine took about 25 minutes, but it depends on size, so just check with a fork time by time)

When the potatoes are good, let them cool slightly so you won’t burn your hands when grating.

When cool enough to handle, grate the potatoes and place in a big bowl. Add flour, semolina and salt and with your hands mix everything together. The dough might still be kind of sticky. You can add more flour if you want to, but I left mine a bit sticky and just sprinkled some flour on top so I was able to work with it.

Divide the dough into 8 smaller parts, form them into rounds and then roll them out into long small rolls. Flouring them slightly will make everything a bit easier. They should be more or less the same size.

Cut the rolls into small pieces, about 1 inch / 3cm. You can shape them if you want or use a fork to get some ridges in them, but it’s not really necessary.

In a pot bring water with salt to boil and cook the gnocchi in batches (I had five rounds I think). When they are floating on the top they are done. Remove them from the water and put in a sieve so the rest water can drop.

Like this you can already eat them, but fried in a pan they are even better.

I had mine with some crispy sage and parmesan and this really went well together :)

6 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Gnocchi

    1. Hm, almond flour sounds nice, but I think you might need at least a bit flour to get it sticky enough? But I have never tried it. So, yeah, please let me know if it is possible, now I also wnat to know ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

