Asparagus Tarte Flambeé

Hey there :)

So it has finally started. The asparagus season. For the next two months our pee will smell funny, we will see all those little stall selling them and our purse might suffer a bit. Hooh-ray.

I actually worked a stall selling asparagus some years ago. Back then we (my sister and I) often were given the left over asparagus (and strawberries, we had those, too :D). So back then I think I had asparagus 6 days a week. In all varieties I could think of, as soup, as gratin, as pesto, as salad … I think I almost turned into an asparagus myself. I was veeery close. I even dreamt of them.

Anyway, nowadays I have to buy them again. Or in this lucky case, my lovely grandma gave them to me. And then I had to think of what to do with them and because the weather was nice and sunny I wanted something that felt like spring to me. I went for asparagus tarte flambeé.

The thing I learnt here was if you are making something considering to also use for a blog it has to look pretty. At least a little bit. So I decided to leave the asparagus in whole spears. And yeah, it looked pretty to me. But it was hard to eat. It took a lot more effort to eat it them whole than when I would have just cut them into smaller bite size pieces. I don’t know… this feels like a dilemma. I want it to be nice to look at, but I also want it to be easy to eat… Also the fact that I had to count the number of spears used instead of just using as many as the dough allows… Cooking really becomes more work ^^° Still, I might be done with pretty ;)

Anyway, enough talking. Here’s the recipe. You decide for yourself whether to go for pretty or handy (I think handy still would look good) :)

spargelpizza1

Recipe

prep time: 40 minutes + baking time 15 minutes   yields: two tarte flambeés

for the dough

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup / 140g whole spelt flour
  • 1 Cup / 140g whole wheat flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 4 Tbsp. walnut oil
  • ½ Cup + 2 Tbsp / 155ml water

 

Instructions:

Place all the flours and salt in a bowl and mix.

Add the oil and the water and work with your hands until you have a smooth dough.

Divide into 2 parts and form into balls. Cover with a damp towel and set aside

for the topping

Ingredients:

  • ¾ Cup / 180g Sour Cream
  • 2-3 Tbsp. of herbs (I used chives, parsley, thyme dill)
  • 20 asparagus spears
  • 2 small rods of leek
  • 2 carrots
  • 14 cherry tomatoes
  • 3 Cups / 120g spinach
  • 1 big red onion
  • Parmesan to taste
  • honey, sugar, salt, freshly cracked black pepper

Instructions:

For the cream mix sour cream with herbs. Add some salt, pepper and honey to taste.

Wash all the vegetables.

Preheat oven to 220°C.

Quarter the leeks lengthwise and if necessary cut into smaller pieces. Set aside.

Peel the asparagus spears and cut off the ends if necessary. (Cut into pieces if need be). Peel the carrot and quarter it lengthwise. In a pan over medium heat with a bit of oil and a splash water and cook the asparagus and the carrot for about 7 minutes. Turn around frequently.

In the meantime roll out dough into to 2 flat rounds. Smear equally with the sour cream.

When the asparagus and carrots are done, divide equally and put on the dough together with the cut leeks. Arrange a bit.

Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and also put on the dough.

Salt and pepper lightly and drizzle about 2 tbsp. of honey over the assembly.

Put in the oven and bake for about 15 minutes. ( I chose to bake them separately on the upper rack)

In the meantime cut the red onions in very thin rings. With a bit of oil or a knob of butter and a teaspoon of sugar sauté in a pan over medium-high heat for about 3-5 minutes. Set aside.

In the same pan put the spinach. Cook until tender and wilted on medium heat, about 3-5 mintues.

Take the tarts out of the oven and evenly put the onion rings and spinach on top.

Grate some parmesan on top.

Serve still hot :)

Leave a Reply

